top of page
Lily Ong

Bagels

Updated: Jul 24, 2023

I like my traditional bagels. It should be crusty and chewy. I don't like soft bagels that are just like sandwich breads, only shaped like bagels. Those aren't bagels!!




Recipe makes 5 bagels at about 120-122g each


200g bread flour

70g wholemeal flour

30g low protein flour

185g milk

60g levain (can be active or unfed)

40g mixed seeds (can be omitted for plain bagels)

4g salt

20g brown sugar

8g olive oil

2g instant yeast


Mix everything together until dough comes together. No windowpane needed. Round it and let it rest for 40 mins at 28C.


Divide, rest 10 mins, shape and rest another 20 mins.



Preheat oven to 200C. Get ready a pot of hot water, and add 1 tbsp sugar (you can use brown sugar or maltose. I ran out) Boil the bagels for 15 seconds each side and then bake at 200C for 20mins (fan on).



These bagels are great to have in the freezer for some emergency back up. There are days we're too lazy to bake, or even days that are too busy for us to bake regularly. To freeze, wait for the bagels to cool down completely, cut them into half and put them in a ziplock bag. I like to make a bigger batch so that I always have some in my freezer. When we want to eat it, we just toast it as usual and it's like fresh from the oven.


Happy baking!


Lily





97 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page