top of page
Lily Ong

Is the pH meter necessary to make Panettone?

Updated: Aug 22, 2023

Yes and no.

I am currently using the Hanna Instruments Foodcare pH Meter for bread and dough. It's easy to use and care for. I also calibrate the pH meter often, usually right before I use it. When to use the pH meter? I usually use it during production. I measure the reading of the PM to make sure it's ready (around 4.1) before use. Then I also use it to measure the reading of the first dough (primo impasto), right after mixing and after the overnight proof.



The pH meter tells you the acidity of the doughs, but it does not tell you whether it is lactic or acetic. That's why sometimes, you'll read some experienced bakers tell you to use your senses - smell and taste. The thing is, if you're a beginner, you wouldn't know what to look for. What should it smell like, what should it taste like... it's something that comes with experience. In my opinion, the pH meter acts as a guide when your senses are still dull. When you already know what to look for, you can opt to ignore the pH readings. It's like baking your regular sourdough breads. You use measuring tools to get the ingredients right, but after a while, you can actually use your hands to "feel" how much flour and water to use. But hey, that comes with experience, does it not?


So, while the pH meter does not tell you everything, I still think it's a useful tool to have. It tells you that maybe your PM isn't strong enough. It has acidified to 4.1 but it hasn't tripled. Sometimes it'll be the other way round. Your PM has grown immensely, but the pH is still only at 4.3. It has happened to me before. Perhaps you want to understand the process much more, and pH reading is another detail that's handy to have.


So in my opinion, it's definitely useful. I won't be throwing away my pH meter anytime soon. Remember to clean and calibrate your pH meter regularly for a more accurate reading. I usually buy a few and reuse the calibration solutions for about 2 months.


Happy baking!


Lily




619 views

Recent Posts

See All

6 Comments


Guest
Jun 10

Hello, dear Lily. I read your website completely, it was very useful and complete. I wanted to thank you. I also have a question, I hope you can help me. I recently made my own PM from liquid starter. Today is the 10th day. It is feed twice a day and fermented. At 28 degrees, it even tripled in the cold in the beginning, now it only doubles and sometimes less. The dough has a mild acidic smell and is sticky. It reaches pH 1.4. I want to know why it does not grow, where I am doing wrong, thank you for guiding me.🌻

Edited
Like

Guest
Jun 07

Hi Lily,

Thank u for sharing your posts. Everything you made looks amazing ! I saw the post you made with kamquat as well. Sure that taste is very special ! I use to live in Malaysia. Now I live in Sydney, I have to grow my own kamquat tree! After travelled to Italy this April , I just want to learn how to make panettone.

I have just bought a Hanna pH Tester.

I want to know by your experience , which solutions you bought for calibration?

the Hanna technique sale rep tried to say I might need this and that :

We offer pH calibration solutions in 500ml bottles of pH 4, 7 & 10 (HI7004C, HI7007C and…


Like

Guest
Dec 29, 2023

So my pm acidity is already at 4.2 but nowhere near tripled, fed 1:1:0.42 with 28c water , 20c room temp fed every 12h , should i wait or feed when ph is at now/4.1?

Like
Lily Ong
Jan 03
Replying to

Is your PM new? Otherwise, you can just maintain it by feeding it once a day and keep it at a lower temperature like 16-17C.

Like

Guest
Sep 20, 2023

Thank you Lily for sharing your experiences about making Pasta Madre. You definitely to the exact points anbout all the issues that I have encountered when I made my own Pasta Madre for the first time. Btw, my PM didn’t turn out so I threw it away already. I plan to build a new one, but this time I will follow your guidance. Hopefully I can have a healthy PM in a month’s time so I can start making panettone.

Questions:

1) You said after 10 days you stopped bathing the PM. I also find bathing the PM not working out too well for me. In this case, do you suggest I dry feed the PM from start? Or…


Like
Lily Ong
Sep 21, 2023
Replying to

Hi Connie,

  1. Yes I would just keep it dry, from the start

  2. The initial process is to create a liquid sourdough with apple yeast water. So yes that's equal part flour and yeast water. After that you're supposed to convert the liquid starter to stiff starter, just like Maria's instructions. Hope that clarifies your questions.

Good luck!

Like
bottom of page